Teaching Philosophy

If I had to say it in someone else’s words…

“What is a teacher? I’ll tell you: it isn’t someone who teaches something, but someone who inspires the student to give of her best in order to discover what she already knows…

Teaching is only demonstrating that it is possible. Learning is making it possible for yourself.”

Paulo Coehlo.

This quote identifies the real source of motivation in learning: ourselves.  Students need to understand that learning comes from within.  I am here for my students.  I am their guide and safety net, but their learning is their own.  I will always respect the wonder, understanding and knowledge they bring to their world, and extend and encourage their curiosity.  I will respect their processes and personalities, and hold trust in the fact that they can do it.

Leave a Reply

